localhost(本地)证书

最后更新: | 所有文档

有时,人们希望获得主机名为“localhost”的证书,用于本地开发,或者使用需要与Web应用程序通信的本机应用程序进行分发。 Let’s Encrypt不能为“localhost”提供证书,因为没有人真正唯一拥有它,并且它不是“.com”或“.net”等顶级域名。 您可以将您自己的域名设置解析至“127.0.0.1”,并使用DNS验证获取证书。 然而,通常情况下这是个坏主意,您其实有更好的选择。

用于本地开发目的

如果您正在开发Web应用程序,那么您可能需要运行Apache或Nginx等本地网站服务器并在浏览器中通过http://localhost:8000/访问。但是,浏览器在HTTP与HTTPS页面上的行为方式略有不同。主要区别:在HTTPS页面上,将不会处理任何从HTTP链接加载的JavaScript的任何请求。 因此,若您在本地使用HTTP开发,您添加的脚本可能能在本地开发计算机正常工作,但是在部署至HTTPS站点时将出现问题。若您需解决此类问题, 您可能需要在本地网络服务器配置HTTPS版本。但是,您不希望始终看到证书错误警告。 您如何在访问本地网页版本时获得安全锁(绿色安全锁)?

最佳选择:生成您自己的证书,可以是自签名的,也可以是由本地根签名的,并且可以在您的操作系统的信任存储中信任它。 然后在本地网站服务器中使用该证书。 请参阅下文了解详情。

适用于与网络应用交谈的原生应用

有时开发人员希望提供可下载的本机应用程序,可以与网站一起使用以提供额外的功能。 例如,Dropbox和Spotify桌面应用程序会扫描您机器上的文件,而网页版不会被允许进行此操作。 一种常见的解决方法是让这些本机应用程序在localhost上提供网页服务,并让网页应用程序通过XMLHTTPRequest(XHR)或WebSockets向它发出请求。 网页应用程序几乎必须使用HTTPS,这意味着浏览器将禁止它将XHR或WebSockets请求发送到非安全链接。 这称为混合内容阻止。 要与网页应用程序通信,本机应用程序需要提供安全的网页服务。

值得庆幸的是,现代浏览器认为 http://127.0.0.1:8000/是一个“可信赖的”链接,因为它引用了一个环回地址。 发送到127.0.0.1的流量保证不会离开您的计算机,因此被视为自动防止网络拦截。 这意味着如果您的网络应用程序是HTTPS,并且您在127.0.0.1上提供本机应用程序的网络服务,则两者可以通过XHR进行通信。不幸的是,localhost不会被认为默认安全。 此外,WebSockets不会将这两个名称记录为安全。

您可能想通过在全局DNS中设置域名来解决这些限制,该域名恰好解析为127.0.0.1(例如,localhost.example.com),获取该域名的证书,将该证书和相应的私钥与您的本机应用程序一起发送,并告诉您的网页应用程序与https://localhost.example.com:8000/而不是http://127.0.0.1:8000/进行通信。 *请勿这样做。*它会使您的用户面临风险,您的证书也可能会被吊销。

通过使用域名而不是IP地址,攻击者可以使用中间人攻击(MitM)进行DNS查找,并注入指向不同IP地址的响应。 然后攻击者可以伪装成本地应用程序并将虚假回复发送回Web应用程序,取决于其设计方式,这可能会损害您在网页应用程序端的帐户。

在这种情况下成功的MitM是可能的,因为为了使其工作,您必须将私钥,公钥和应用程序一起分发。 这意味着下载应用程序的任何人都会获得私钥的副本,包括攻击者。 这被视为您泄露了您的私钥,并且如果您的CA发现了该泄露,则需要您的证书颁发机构(CA)吊销您的证书。许多本机应用程序因为将私钥和程序一起发送被CA吊销证书

不幸的是,这使得本机应用程序没有很多好的,安全的选项来与相应的网站进行通信。如果浏览器进一步缩进对来自网络的本地主机的访问,将来情况可能会变得更加棘手。

另请注意,导出提供特权本机API的Web服务本身就存在风险,因为未经授权的网站可能会访问它们。 如果您要继续进行该行为,请务必阅读跨源资源共享,使用Access-Control-Allow-Origin,并确保使用包括“内存安全”的HTTP解析器,因为即使是被禁止访问的网页也可能会利用解析器中的错误发送预检请求。

制作并信任您自己的证书

任何人都可以在没有CA帮助的情况下制作自己的证书。 唯一的区别是您自己制作的证书不会被其他任何人信任。 对于当地的发展,那没关系。

为localhost生成私钥和自签名证书的最简单方法是使用以下openssl命令:

openssl req -x509 -out localhost.crt -keyout localhost.key \
  -newkey rsa:2048 -nodes -sha256 \
  -subj '/CN=localhost' -extensions EXT -config <( \
   printf "[dn]\nCN=localhost\n[req]\ndistinguished_name = dn\n[EXT]\nsubjectAltName=DNS:localhost\nkeyUsage=digitalSignature\nextendedKeyUsage=serverAuth")

然后,您可以使用localhost.crt和localhost.key配置本地网站服务器,并在本地受信任的根列表中安装localhost.crt。

如果您希望在开发证书中更加逼真,可以使用minica生成自己的本地根证书,并颁发由其签名的终端(又称叶)证书。 然后,您将导入根证书而不是自签名的终端证书。

您还可以选择使用带有点的域,例如www.localhost,将其作为别名添加到/etc/hosts作为127.0.0.1的别名。这巧妙地改变了浏览器处理cookie存储的方式。

Certificates for localhost

Last updated: December 21, 2017 | See all Documentation

Sometimes people want to get a certificate for the hostname “localhost”, either for use in local development, or for distribution with a native application that needs to communicate with a web application. Let’s Encrypt can’t provide certificates for “localhost” because nobody uniquely owns it, and it’s not rooted in a top level domain like “.com” or “.net”. It’s possible to set up your own domain name that happens to resolve to 127.0.0.1, and get a certificate for it using the DNS challenge. However, this is generally a bad idea and there are better options.

For local development

If you’re developing a web app, it’s useful to run a local web server like Apache or Nginx, and access it via http://localhost:8000/ in your web browser. However, web browsers behave in subtly different ways on HTTP vs HTTPS pages. The main difference: On an HTTPS page, any requests to load JavaScript from an HTTP URL will be blocked. So if you’re developing locally using HTTP, you might add a script tag that works fine on your development machine, but breaks when you deploy to your HTTPS production site. To catch this kind of problem, it’s useful to set up HTTPS on your local web server. However, you don’t want to see certificate warnings all the time. How do you get the green lock locally?

The best option: Generate your own certificate, either self-signed or signed by a local root, and trust it in your operating system’s trust store. Then use that certificate in your local web server. See below for details.

For native apps talking to web apps

Sometimes developers want to offer a downloadable native app that can be used alongside a web site to offer extra features. For instance, the Dropbox and Spotify desktop apps scan for files from across your machine, which a web app would not be allowed to do. One common approach is for these native apps to offer a web service on localhost, and have the web app make requests to it via XMLHTTPRequest (XHR) or WebSockets. The web app almost always uses HTTPS, which means that browsers will forbid it from making XHR or WebSockets requests to non-secure URLs. This is called Mixed Content Blocking. To communicate with the web app, the native app needs to provide a secure web service.

Fortunately, modern browsers considerhttp://127.0.0.1:8000/" to be a “potentially trustworthy” URL because it refers to a loopback address. Traffic sent to 127.0.0.1 is guaranteed not to leave your machine, and so is considered automatically secure against network interception. That means if your web app is HTTPS, and you offer a native app web service on 127.0.0.1, the two can happily communicate via XHR. Unfortunately, localhost doesn’t yet get the same treatment. Also, WebSockets don’t get this treatment for either name.

You might be tempted to work around these limitations by setting up a domain name in the global DNS that happens to resolve to 127.0.0.1 (for instance, localhost.example.com), getting a certificate for that domain name, shipping that certificate and corresponding private key with your native app, and telling your web app to communicate with https://localhost.example.com:8000/ instead of http://127.0.0.1:8000/. Don’t do this. It will put your users at risk, and your certificate may get revoked.

By introducing a domain name instead of an IP address, you make it possible for an attacker to Man in the Middle (MitM) the DNS lookup and inject a response that points to a different IP address. The attacker can then pretend to be the local app and send fake responses back to the web app, which may compromise your account on the web app side, depending on how it is designed.

The successful MitM in this situation is possible because in order to make it work, you had to ship the private key to your certificate with your native app. That means that anybody who downloads your native app gets a copy of the private key, including the attacker. This is considered a compromise of your private key, and your Certificate Authority (CA) is required to revoke your certificate if they become aware of it. Many native apps have had their certificates revoked for shipping their private key.

Unfortunately, this leaves native apps without a lot of good, secure options to communicate with their corresponding web site. And the situation may get trickier in the future if browsers further tighten access to localhost from the web.

Also note that exporting a web service that offers privileged native APIs is inherently risky, because web sites that you didn’t intend to authorize may access them. If you go down this route, make sure to read up on Cross-Origin Resource Sharing, use Access-Control-Allow-Origin, and make sure to use a memory-safe HTTP parser, because even origins you don’t allow access to can send preflight requests, which may be able to exploit bugs in your parser.

Making and trusting your own certificates

Anyone can make their own certificates without help from a CA. The only difference is that certificates you make yourself won’t be trusted by anyone else. For local development, that’s fine.

The simplest way to generate a private key and self-signed certificate for localhost is with this openssl command:

openssl req -x509 -out localhost.crt -keyout localhost.key \
  -newkey rsa:2048 -nodes -sha256 \
  -subj '/CN=localhost' -extensions EXT -config <( \
   printf "[dn]\nCN=localhost\n[req]\ndistinguished_name = dn\n[EXT]\nsubjectAltName=DNS:localhost\nkeyUsage=digitalSignature\nextendedKeyUsage=serverAuth")

You can then configure your local web server with localhost.crt and localhost.key, and install localhost.crt in your list of locally trusted roots.

If you want a little more realism in your development certificates, you can use minica to generate your own local root certificate, and issue end-entity (aka leaf) certificates signed by it. You would then import the root certificate rather than a self-signed end-entity certificate.

You can also choose to use a domain with dots in it, like “www.localhost”, by adding it to /etc/hosts as an alias to 127.0.0.1. This subtly changes how browsers handle cookie storage.