证书颁发机构授权(CAA)

最后更新: | 所有文档

CAA是一种DNS记录,允许站点所有者指定允许哪些证书颁发机构(CA)颁发包含其域名的证书。 该记录在2013年被RFC 6844正式采纳,以允许CA“降低意外证书错误发布的风险”。通常来说,每个公共CA在验证申请者的域名控制权后都被允许为任何域名颁发证书。这意味着如果某个CA的验证流程出现错误,所有公开注册的域名都将受到影响。CAA记录为域名持有者提供了降低风险的方法。

使用CAA记录

如果您不关心CAA,通常不需要执行任何操作(但请参阅下面的CAA错误)。如果您希望使用CAA限制允许哪些证书颁发机构为您的域颁发证书,则需要使用支持设置CAA记录的DNS提供程序。 查看SSLMate的CAA页面以获取此类提供商的列表。 如果列出了您的DNS提供商,您可以使用SSLMate的CAA记录生成器生成一组列出您允许颁发证书的CA的CAA记录。

Let’s Encrypt为CAA确定的域名是letsencrypt.org。 这已在我们的认证实践声明(CPS),第4.2.1节中正式记录。

放置CAA记录的位置

您可以在主域或任何子域深度上设置CAA记录。例如,如果你有www.community.example.com,你可以在该域或community.example.comexample.com设置CAA记录。CA将从左到右检查每个版本,并在看到任何CAA记录后立即停止。因此,community.example.com上的CAA记录优先于example.com上的记录。大多数添加CAA记录的人都希望将它们添加到注册域(example.com),以便它们在所有子域均适用。另请注意,子域的CAA记录优先于其父域,无论该记录相比于主域更宽松或更具限制性。 因此,子域可以放松父域所施加的限制。

与所有其他DNS请求一样,CAA验证遵循CNAME记录。如果www.community.example.comweb1.example.net的CNAME,CA将首先请求www.community.example.com的CAA记录,然后看到该域有一个CNAME 名称而不是CAA记录,将请求web1.example.net的CAA记录。 请注意,如果域名具有CNAME记录,则根据DNS标准不允许拥有任何其他记录。

CAA RFC最初指定了一种称为“爬树”的附加行为,要求CA还检查CNAME解析结果的父域。后来erratum删除了这个额外的行为,因此XXX和其他CA没有配置该行为。

CAA错误

由于Let’s Encrypt在颁发证书之前检查CAA记录,因此有时即使对于未设置任何CAA记录的域名,我们也会收到错误。 当我们收到错误时,我们无法判断是否允许对该域名颁发证书,因为域名可能存在因为错误无法显示的“禁止颁发”CAA记录。

如果您收到与CAA相关的错误,请在我们的测试环境中再试几次,看看它们是暂时的还是永久性的。 如果它们是永久性的,则需要向DNS提供商或交换机提供商提出支持工单。 如果您不确定您的DNS提供商是谁,请询问您的托管服务提供商。

一些不熟悉CAA的DNS提供商最初使用“我们不支持CAA记录”回复客户的问题报告。您的DNS提供商不需要专门支持CAA记录; 它只需要对未知查询类型(包括CAA)的NOERROR响应进行回复。 对于无法识别的qtypes,返回其他操作码(包括NOTIMP)违反了RFC 1035并需要修复。

SERVFAIL

人们遇到的最常见错误之一是SERVFAIL。 大多数情况下,这表明DNSSEC验证失败。 如果您收到SERVFAIL错误,您的第一步应该是使用如dnsviz.net之类的DNSSEC调试器检查错误。如果这不起作用,则只有在响应为空时,您的名称服务器才可能生成错误的签名。 CAA响应通常是空的。 例如,PowerDNS 在4.0.3及更低版本中有此错误

如果您没有启用DNSSEC并得到SERVFAIL回复,第二个最可能的原因是您的权威名称服务器返回NOTIMP,如上所述,这是违反RFC 1035的; 它应该以空响应返回NOERROR。 如果是这种情况,请向DNS提供商提交错误或支持服务工单。

最后,SERVFAIL可能是由您的权威名称服务器服务中断引起的。 检查DNS服务器的NS记录,并确保每个服务器都可以访问。

连接超时

有时CAA会查询超时。 也就是说,即使在多次重试之后,权威名称服务器也从不回复答案。 最常见的情况是,当您的DNS服务器防火墙有配置错误时,会丢弃具有未知qtypes的DNS查询。您可以向DNS提供商提交支持工单,询问他们是否配置了这样的防火墙。

Certificate Authority Authorization (CAA)

Last updated: July 27, 2017 | See all Documentation

CAA is a type of DNS record that allows site owners to specify which Certificate Authorities (CAs) are allowed to issue certificates containing their domain names. It was standardized in 2013 by RFC 6844 to allow a CA “reduce the risk of unintended certificate mis-issue.” By default, every public CA is allowed to issue certificates for any domain name in the public DNS, provided they validate control of that domain name. That means that if there’s a bug in any one of the many public CAs’ validation processes, every domain name is potentially affected. CAA provides a way for domain holders to reduce that risk.

Note (September 2017): See this update in our API Announcements area for a recent, temporary change to our CAA processing behavior.

Using CAA

If you don’t care about CAA, you generally don’t have to do anything (but see CAA errors below). If you would like to use CAA to restrict which Certificate Authorities are allowed to issue certificates for your domain, you will need to use a DNS provider that supports setting CAA records. Check SSLMate’s CAA page for a list of such providers. If your provider is listed, you can use SSLMate’s CAA Record Generator to generate a set of CAA records listing the CAs that you would like to allow.

Let’s Encrypt’s identifying domain name for CAA is letsencrypt.org. This is officially documented in our Certification Practice Statement (CPS), section 4.2.1.

Where to put the record

You can set CAA records on your main domain, or at any depth of subdomain. For instance, if you had www.community.example.com, you could set CAA records for the full name, or for community.example.com, or for example.com. CAs will check each version, from left to right, and stop as soon as they see any CAA record. So for instance, a CAA record at community.example.com would take precedence over one at example.com. Most people who add CAA records will want to add them to their registered domain (example.com) so that they apply to all subdomains. Also note that CAA records for subdomains take precedence over their parent domains regardless of whether they are more permissive or more restrictive. So a subdomain can loosen a restriction put in place by a parent domain.

CAA validation follows CNAMEs, like all other DNS requests. If www.community.example.com is a CNAME to web1.example.net, the CA will first request CAA records for www.community.example.com, then seeing that there is a CNAME for that domain name instead of CAA records, will request CAA records for web1.example.net instead. Note that if a domain name has a CNAME record, it is not allowed to have any other records according to the DNS standards.

The CAA RFC specifies an additional behavior called “tree-climbing” that requires CAs to also check the parent domains of the result of CNAME resolution. Let’s Encrypt does not implement tree climbing because it makes expressing certain CAA policies impossible. After discussion on the IETF mailing list, we achieved consensus that tree-climbing in CAA is not ideal, and there’s an erratum for the CAA RFC removing it. That erratum still needs to be voted in by the CA/Browser Forum by September 8 for it to to take effect for publicly trusted CAs.

CAA errors

Since Let’s Encrypt checks CAA records before every certificate we issue, sometimes we get errors even for domains that haven’t set any CAA records. When we get an error, there’s no way to tell whether we are allowed to issue for the affected domain, since there could be CAA records present that forbid issuance, but are not visible because of the error.

If you receive CAA-related errors, try a few more times against our staging environment to see if they are temporary or permanent. If they are permanent, you will need to file a support issue with your DNS provider, or switch providers. If you’re not sure who your DNS provider is, ask your hosting provider.

Some DNS providers that are unfamiliar with CAA initially reply to problem reports with “We do not support CAA records.” Your DNS provider does not need to specifically support CAA records; it only needs to reply with a NOERROR response for unknown query types (including CAA). Returning other opcodes, including NOTIMP, for unrecognized qtypes is a violation of RFC 1035, and needs to be fixed.

SERVFAIL

One of the most common errors that people encounter is SERVFAIL. Most often this indicates a failure of DNSSEC validation. If you get a SERVFAIL error, your first step should be to use a DNSSEC debugger like dnsviz.net. If that doesn’t work, it’s possible that your nameservers generate incorrect signatures only when the response is empty. And CAA responses are most commonly empty. For instance, PowerDNS had this bug in version 4.0.3 and below.

If you don’t have DNSSEC enabled and get a SERVFAIL, the second most likely reason is that your authoritative nameserver returned NOTIMP, which as described above is an RFC 1035 violation; it should instead return NOERROR with an empty response. If this is the case, file a bug or a support ticket with your DNS provider.

Lastly, SERVFAILs may be caused by outages at your authoritative nameservers. Check the NS records for your nameservers and ensure that each server is available.

Timeout

Sometimes CAA queries time out. That is, the authoritative name server never replies with an answer at all, even after multiple retries. Most commonly this happens when your nameserver has a misconfigured firewall in front of it that drops DNS queries with unknown qtypes. File a support ticket with your DNS provider and ask them if they have such a firewall configured.