吊销证书

最后更新: | 所有文档

注意:本页面有较新的英文版本。 () 阅读英文页面

当证书的相应私钥不再安全时,您应该吊销证书。 该情况可能由很多原因造成。 例如, 您可能意外的在某些公共网站上上传了您的私钥信息;黑客可能进入了您的服务器并复制了私钥;黑客可能暂时获取了您的服务器或 DNS 配置的控制权,并验证、颁发了他们控制私钥的证书。

当您在吊销 Let’s Encrypt 证书时,Let’s Encrypt 将使用在线证书状态协议(OCSP)发布该吊销信息,有些浏览器会检查 OCSP 并决定是否信任该证书。 请注意,OCSP 有些根本性问题,所以不是所有浏览器都会检查 OCSP 信息。 但是,吊销私钥已经泄露的证书十分重要,并且也是 Let’s Encrypt 的用户协议中强制要求的。

若您要吊销 Let’s Encrypt 颁发的证书,您需要通过 Certbot 之类的 ACME 客户端使用 ACME API 进行操作。 您需要向 Let’s Encrypt 证明您有权吊销证书。 有三种方法可以吊销颁发的证书:

用颁发证书的账户吊销证书

如果最初是您自己颁发了证书,并且您仍然可以控制用于颁发该证书的帐户,则可以使用您的帐户凭据吊销该证书。 Certbot 将默认尝试使用该方法吊销证书。 例如:

certbot revoke --cert-path /etc/letsencrypt/archive/${YOUR_DOMAIN}/cert1.pem --reason keycompromise

使用证书私钥吊销证书

如果最初不是您颁发了证书,但是您拥有相应私钥的副本,则您可以使用该私钥对吊销请求进行签名。 例如,如果您发现有私钥被意外公开,即使您不是最初颁发使用该私钥的证书的人,您也可以使用此方法吊销这些证书。

要使用此方法,首先需要下载要吊销的证书。 Let’s Encrypt 将所有颁发的证书记录到证书透明度日志中,所以您可以从日志监视器(例如 crt.sh中查找并下载证书。

您还需要 PEM 格式的私钥副本。 当您拥有这些文件后,您可以像这样吊销证书:

certbot revoke --cert-path /PATH/TO/cert.pem --key-path /PATH/TO/key.pem --reason keycompromise

使用其他授权帐户吊销证书

如果有人入侵了您的主机或 DNS 后颁发了证书,那么您一旦重新获得控制权,就会想要吊销该证书。 要吊销证书,Let’s Encrypt 将需要确保您控制该证书中的域名(否则人们可以在未经许可的情况下吊销彼此的证书)! 为了验证您对该域名的控制权,您需要使用和您申请 Let’s Encrypt 证书时相同的流程:您可以在添加一条 DNS TXT 记录或在HTTP 服务器上放置指定文件。 通常情况下,ACME 客户端将为您处理这些工作。 然而,大多数 ACME 客户端将验证控制权和颁发证书这两个操作捆绑在一起,因此若要验证控制权您必须尝试颁发新证书。 若您不需要颁发的新证书,您可以将其吊销或删除证书私钥。 若您完全不想颁发一张新的证书,您可以尝试在请求中添加一个不存在的域名,这将导致证书颁发失败,但是仍旧能够证明您对需要吊销的域名的控制权。 要这样做,请运行:

certbot certonly --manual --preferred-challenges=dns -d ${YOUR_DOMAIN} -d nonexistent.${YOUR_DOMAIN}

并按照指引操作。 若您想要使用 HTTP 文件(而不是 DNS)来进行验证,请将 --preferred-challenges=dns 替换为 --preferred-challenges=http

一旦您验证了要吊销的证书中所有域名的控制权,您就可以从 crt.sh 中下载证书,然后和您自己颁发了证书的情况一样,使用如下命令吊销证书:

certbot revoke --cert-path /PATH/TO/downloaded-cert.pem --reason keycompromise

Revoking certificates

Last updated: 2017-06-08:00 | See all Documentation

When a certificate’s corresponding private key is no longer safe, you should revoke the certificate. This can happen for a few different reasons. For instance, you might accidentally share the private key on a public website; hackers might copy the private key off of your servers; or hackers might take temporary control over your servers or your DNS configuration, and use that to validate and issue a certificate for which they hold the private key.

When you revoke a Let’s Encrypt certificate, Let’s Encrypt will publish that revocation information through the Online Certificate Status Protocol (OCSP), and some browsers will check OCSP to see whether they should trust a certificate. Note that OCSP has some fundamental problems, so not all browsers will do this check. Still, revoking certificates that correspond to compromised private keys is an important practice, and is required by Let’s Encrypt’s Subscriber Agreement.

To revoke a certificate with Let’s Encrypt, you will use the ACME API, most likely through an ACME client like Certbot. You will need to prove to Let’s Encrypt that you are authorized to revoke the certificate. There are three ways to do this:

From the account that issued the certificate

If you originally issued the certificate, and you still have control of the account you used to issue it, you can revoke it using your account credentials. Certbot will attempt this by default. Example:

certbot revoke --cert-path /etc/letsencrypt/archive/${YOUR_DOMAIN}/cert1.pem

Using the certificate private key

If you did not originally issue the certificate, but you have a copy of the corresponding private key, you can revoke by using that private key to sign the revocation request. For instance, if you see that a private key has accidentally been made public, you can use this method to revoke certificates that used that private key, even if you are not the person who originally issued those certificates.

To use this method, you will first need to download the certificate to be revoked. Let’s Encrypt logs all certificates to Certificate Transparency logs, so you can can find and download certificates from a log monitor like crt.sh.

You will also need a copy of the private key in PEM format. Once you have these, you can revoke the certificate like so:

certbot revoke --cert-path /PATH/TO/cert.pem --key-path /PATH/TO/key.pem

Using a different authorized account

If someone issued a certificate after compromising your host or your DNS, you’ll want to revoke that certificate once you regain control. In order to revoke the certificate, Let’s Encrypt will need to ensure that you control the domain names in that certificate (otherwise people could revoke each other’s certificates without permission)! To validate this control, Let’s Encrypt uses the same methods it uses to validate control for issuance: you can put a value in a DNS TXT record, put a file on an HTTP server, or offer a special TLS certificate. Generally an ACME client will handle these for you. Note that most ACME clients combine validation and issuance, so the only way to ask for validations is to attempt issuance. You can then revoke the resulting certificate if you don’t want it, or simply destroy the private key. If want to avoid issuing a certificate at all, you can include a non-existent domain name in your commandline, which will cause issuance to fail while still validating the other, existing domain names. To do this, run:

certbot certonly --manual --preferred-challenges=dns -d ${YOUR_DOMAIN} -d nonexistent.${YOUR_DOMAIN}

And follow the instructions. If you’d prefer to validate using HTTP rather than DNS, replace the --preferred-challenges flag with --preferred-challenges=http.

Once you’ve validated control of all the domain names in the certificate you want to revoke, you can download the certificate from crt.sh, then proceed to revoke the certificate as if you had issued it:

certbot revoke --cert-path /PATH/TO/downloaded-cert.pem